We would like to invite you to a concert together with a lecture entitled "Karol Lipiński's Piano" in the Concert Hall of the Academy of Music in Wrocław, as an accompanying event to the Lower Silesian Festival of Science. The concert will take place on 19 September 2023 at 18:00 at the Karol Lipiński Academy of Music in Wrocław. Mandatory registration until 15 September 2023 at the following email address: katarzyna.turek@amkl.edu.pl.

Poland's and the world's premiere presentation of the unknown piano works of Karol Lipiński (1790 - 1861), the outstanding Polish violinist and composer, one of the greatest virtuosos in the history of violin music. Karol Lipiński's unknown works emphatically demonstrate the influence of historical reality on the work of composers of the turbulent period of the national uprisings and the struggle for independence. Strong patriotic emotions are highlighted in the original piano pieces by the great Polish violinist. These include the following works for solo piano: 3 Polonaises Op. 5, the Pathetique Polonaise, the Polonaise in A major and the Mazur in E flat minor. A fascination with the works of the piano virtuoso and a personal acquaintance with Fryderyk Chopin resulted in the composition of Polonaises Op. 26 for violin and piano, written after the defeat of the November Uprising. The concert will therefore be an excellent opportunity to recall the history of the Polish national uprisings, this time in relation to classical music, on the eve of the 233rd anniversary of Karol Lipiński's birth, which falls on 30 October, the upcoming celebrations of the National Independence Day and the 193rd anniversary of the outbreak of the November Uprising on 29 November 2023. The lecture will be delivered by Aleksandra Pijarowska, Ph.D., Prof. AMKL, works for solo piano will be performed by Julita Przybylska-Nowak, Ph.D., Prof. AMKL, works for violin and piano will be performed by Prof. Jarosław Pietrzak, Ph.D. (violin), Julita Przybylska-Nowak, Prof. AMKL (piano).

Concert programme:

  • F. Chopin - Polonaise in C sharp minor Op. 26 No. 1 for violin and piano (arr. Karol Lipiński)
  • Karol Lipiński - works for piano solo:
    • Polonaise in A major No. 5
    • Polonaise in E major Op. 5 No. 1
    • Polonaise in A major Op.5 No.2
    • Polonaise in B flat major Op. 5 No. 3
    • Polonaise in D minor
    • Mazurka in E flat minor op. posth.
  • F. Chopin - Polonaise in E flat minor Op. 26 No. 2 for violin and piano (arr. Karol Lipiński)


Julia Przybylska-Nowak - piano

Jarosław Pietrzak - violin


More information: https://www.festiwal.wroc.pl/wydarzenia/fortepian-karola-lipinskiego/

Certyfikat MusiQuE